Colin McRae Rally, Saturday 27th September.

.... for those that enjoy 'tracking' their car.

Colin McRae Rally, Saturday 27th September.

Postby Malc » Thu Aug 28, 2008 6:41 pm

Thought I'd post this up again as a few members went along last year. This year's rally should be even better ...

All Star Rally Tribute

Five World Rally Champions, four British Champions, three American Champions and at least six Scottish Champions are all set to contest the Colin McRae Forest Stages Rally, in association with Pirelli.

In a unique, national rally entry list, which will never again be repeated, this very special event will pay tribute to the former World Rally Champion, Colin McRae.

With the rally Regulations and Entry Form shortly to be available, the list of those who are determined to attend include five world champions: Bjorn Waldegard (1979), Ari Vatanen (1981), Hannu Mikkola (1983), Stig Blomqvist (1984) and our own Louise Aitken-Walker, the first Scot and first Briton, to win a world rally title when she won the Ladies World Rally title in 1990.

From America, the visitors include the country’s first national rally champion, John Buffum and its most recent, Travis Pastrana, with runner-up Ken Block also determined to visit Scotland. All three were firm family friends as well as rivals.

The line up of British Champions includes Jim McRae (1981, 82, 84, 87 and 1988) and Alister McRae (1995) plus Russell Brookes (1977 and 85) and Malcolm Wilson, now boss of the Ford World Rally team who won the British title himself in 1994. And making their own personal tributes are English Champion Phil Collins and Northern Ireland’s Kris Meeke who won the British Junior title in 2002.

Topping the list of Scottish champions is Andrew Cowan who won his first national title in 1976, but he was also the first ever winner of the world’s first marathon rally when he won the London to Sydney Marathon in a Scottish built car (Hillman Hunter) in 1968.

Three times Scottish Rally Champion Ken Wood will be joined by more recent champions including Dave Weston, Jimmy Girvan and Michael Horne.

Organised by Coltness Car Club, the Colin McRae Forest Stages Rally will start from and finish in Perth with a lunch halt at Aberfeldy. The route will include five of the most evocative special stages in British rallying including three of Colin McRae’s all time favourites at Craigvinean, Drummond Hill and Errochty.
User avatar
Posts: 618
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 11:04 am
Location: Dundee.

Postby L111CHT » Thu Aug 28, 2008 10:13 pm

yeah i was there last year and bumped into findlay too.

cost me a ruddy fortune that day did..broke two wheels and tyres on the bmw on a rock protruding out the side of the road in glen quaich..... :evil:
User avatar
Posts: 899
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Sunny Arbroath

Return to Motorsport

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests