Headrest speakers r pants

All things to do with In Car Entertainment and music in general (latest CDs, gigs, etc)

Headrest speakers r pants

Postby smiles » Tue Jan 29, 2013 3:23 pm

Hi guys just a quick question I have upgraded speakers In my headrests from maplin 4 inch and have discovered there pants cos every song crackles when u turn it up slightly loud and sounds crap was looking into a set from halfrauds called alpine sxe 1025s. Does anyone recommend these speaker or anybody got them and rate them well or not. I also was wondering if changing the speaker cable will improve sound quality considering its 20 year old and is it easy to trace back to the head unit and easy to replace
smiles

Re: Headrest speakers r pants

Postby DTB » Thu Jan 31, 2013 1:05 pm

I've no experience of those alpines but it might be worth checking the wiring if the speakers are crackling - assuming the old ones cracked before you put in the ones from maplin. At the end of the day the headrest ones are small speakers and won't give a massive sound. If you need more volume, concentrate on door speakers.

What head unit & door speaker set up are you running?
DTB

Postby OldSpice » Thu Jan 31, 2013 9:44 pm

The OEM headrest speakers were poor to begin with and age will not have improved them. Eventually the membranes fail.
I use Maplin frequently but I would not expect their "Made in Xang-Yong-Hooflungdung" speakers to be great.
I'd ditch the Maplin stuff, and fit these.
http://www.mx5parts.co.uk/headrest-speakers-p-388.html
There is always an imbecile you never bargained for. Usually in a Tescon carpark with a dented Zafira minus hubcaps
OldSpice

Postby intibet23 » Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:03 am

To be honest you can fit the best speakers in the world and they will sound crap if you don't have good power amp. Most head units will not do this. Fit a separate amp under the passenger seat & dynamat your doors at the very least. Head rest speakers usually only good for background fill.